This is Me

dog-help

me and bailey

Hi there. I’m Cara, as you might know if you read the title, and this is my blog. I’m an average teenager living in the USA, and spend my time going to school and work. When I’m not doing one of those things I’m sitting on my couch reading/snuggling with my dog, taking pictures, or working out because I somehow motivated myself to get up and actually do something with my life. And even though it’s a hobby, taking pictures is for my photography class in school so it doesn’t really count as something that I do for an extracurricular.That’s literally most of what I do. Now most would say that is really quite sad, and that I should be having fun with friends while I’m still young and free. My mother for example, is constantly griping at me to go out and do something rather than just chilling at home with my headphones in. However, that’s where I run into a slight problem. You see, ever since I can remember I’ve been little different from most of the other kids. I’m not trying to be special snowflake here, trust me that’s exactly the opposite of what I want. I have never really been good with people, especially when they are in large groups, so you can imagine me being an awkward little kid in school trying to seem normal. Fortunately for me I was never really bullied as a result of what I now know is social anxiety, but there are always quips about it, even as I’ve gotten older. People always make comments about how quiet I am. Because of this I have always had a hard time making friends, and struggle to have more than one or two at a time. Just as Charles Xavier told Wolverine in X-Men: Days of Future Past to “Lead me, guide me, be patient with me.”, I have to tell people to just wait a little for me to get used to them so we can have a decent conversation. I have gotten better with help, so conversations with people aren’t nearly as scary as they used to be. However, I still have a lot of trouble in social settings because of my social anxiety. I’ve had to learned to overcome some of the symptoms that come with it, and hope that eventually I can control it completely. This blog is about my experiences as a teenager living in America with social anxiety, and how I’ve got to deal with it.

Leave a Reply

